So you want to be a real estate agent in Connecticut?
Being a real estate professional is a dream job for many people, and it isn’t difficult to understand why.
For starters, you get to be your own boss. You pick your work hours. And as long as you invest time and effort, you reap what you sow and potentially earn a high income.
If you’ve decided on starting down the path of selling homes, congratulations, you are one step closer to success. The next few steps won’t be that easy, but we’re here to guide you.
Read on to find out how to get a real estate license online in Connecticut.
Connecticut Real Estate Salesperson Qualifications
To qualify as a real estate agent in Connecticut, you must satisfy the following:
- You are at least 18 years of age.
- You are a US citizen or an alien who is authorized to work in the US.
How to Get a Real Estate License Online in Connecticut in 5 Steps
Here are the 5 steps to get your real estate license:
- Complete 60 hours of pre-licensing education at an accredited school or organization.
- Submit an application to the PSI for exam eligibility.
- Pass the licensing exam.
- Complete your application.
- Find a sponsoring broker.
Let’s now go through the steps one by one.
1. Complete the mandatory pre-licensing education
The state of Connecticut requires all new salesperson applicants to complete 60 hours of pre-licensing education from an accredited provider.
The Real Estate Principles and Practices course includes topics such as:
- Real Property Law
- Real Estate Brokerage
- Real Estate Financing
- Leases and Property Management
- Real Estate Appraisal
- Fair Housing and Ethics Practices
- Connecticut Licensing Law
- Real Estate Taxes
...and several others.
2. Apply with the PSI to take the test
Once you have completed the required pre-licensing education, you need to register with the PSI to be eligible to sit for the exam.
Go to the PSI website, create an account, submit your registration form and pay the fees. Refer to the Candidate Information Bulletin to check the registration fees.
Once you receive the Examination Eligibility postcard, you can then proceed to schedule your exam with the PSI.
3. Pass the licensing exam
The Connecticut Salesperson Licensing Exam consists of two sections - state and national.
There will be 30 state-specific questions and 80 national/general items in the exam. You will have 45 minutes to finish the state exam and 120 minutes to complete the latter.
The test will be conducted on a computer, and you will immediately see your score upon completing it.
To pass the exam, you will need to earn a score of 70% or higher.
4. Complete your application
Upon passing the licensing exam, you must submit the original exam passing score report and pay the initial license fee to the Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection, Licensing Services Division.
You must apply within two years of passing the exam, otherwise, you will need to re-apply to the PSI to retake the exam.
5. Find a sponsoring broker
Finally, for you to be able to practice your profession, you will have to be employed by a brokerage firm. Choose one with a good track record, one that offers good benefits, and one that suits your needs as a newbie agent.
Do I need to take continuing education to renew my Connecticut real estate license?
Two years into your real estate career, you will need to renew your license. To satisfy the Connecticut real estate license renewal, you must complete the mandatory12 hour continuing education at an accredited school.
Is it better to take real estate classes online or in a classroom?
For most, it is better to take classes online.
Not only is online real estate school cheaper, but it also a lot more flexible and convenient. Plus, there’s no more need for you to drive or commute to your classes because your course materials are easily accessible using your computer or any mobile device.
How much does it cost to get a real estate salesperson license in Connecticut?
Online real estate pre-licensing course fees in Connecticut start from around $500*.
You will also need to pay a $52* exam fee and an $80* license fee.
What do I need to bring on the day of the exam?
You will need two forms of identification bearing your signature and a basic calculator. You must also bring the confirmation number from when your test reservation was made.
If you’re looking for ways to supplement your fixed income, starting a sideline as a real estate agent is the way to go.
The process toward obtaining a license may require time, effort, and money, but when you start hustling, you will easily recover your start-up expenses and begin to see the limitless possibilities the job offers.
We wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors!