Real Estate License Requirements by State Chart

Looking to get your real estate license? 

Well, before you can get that, there are a bunch of requirements you have to meet first. 

To make things worse, these requirements aren't universal. Every state has its very own set of requirements. 

But don't worry.

To help you sort through all the little confusing details, we've put together the ultimate real estate license requirements by state chart. 

Finding your state's requirements has never been so easy, so let's dive in! 

Real Estate Agent License Requirements for All States

From Alabama to Wyoming, here are every state’s requirements to become a real estate agent: 

State

Requirements

Process

More Info

  • Must be at least 19 years old
  • Must be a US citizen (or have documentation from the federal government to establish permanent residency)
  • Must be a resident of Alabama (or must agree to provisions given upon request)
  • Must not be convicted of any crime or felony involving moral turpitude
  • Must be a high school graduate or equivalent
  • Must not have had a real estate application or license revoked or rejected in any State within the past two years
  1. Complete the 60 Hours Pre-Licensing Education Online
  2. Pass the Alabama Licensing Exam
  3. Select a Sponsoring Broker
  4. Complete Your Application
  5. Complete the Online Post-Licensing Course
  • Must be at least 19 years old
  • Must not be under indictment for forgery, theft, extortion, conspiracy to defraud creditors, or fraud
  • Must be a US Citizen or legal alien
  1. Complete 40 hours of approved Alaska real estate pre-licensing education
  2. Pass the Alaska real estate salesperson exam
  3. Obtain sponsorship from an Alaska real estate broker
  4. Obtain errors and omissions insurance
  5. Apply for your Alaska real estate salesperson license
  6. Complete 30 hours of post-licensing education
  • Must be at least 18 years old
  • Must have a high school diploma or equivalent (GED)
  • Must be a US citizen or legal alien
  • Must be an Arizona resident
  • Must have a Social Security number
  • Must not have any criminal records (although you can still get a real estate license if you do, it will depend on the Arizona Department of Real Estate or ADRE)
  1. Complete 90 hours of real estate pre-licensing courses and 6 hours of Contract Writing course
  2. Pass the Arizona real estate exam
  3. Get a Fingerprint Clearance Card (FCC)
  4. Apply for a real estate license from the ADRE
  5. Find a brokerage to work for
  • Must be at least 18 years old
  • Must be a US citizen or legal alien

 

  1. Complete the required 60-hour pre-licensing course
  2. Submit your application
  3. Pass the Arkansas real estate licensing exam
  4. Complete a background check
  5. Complete the required 18-hours of post-licensing education

  • Must be at least 18 years old
  • Must be a US citizen or legal alien
  • Must have a Social Security number or individual taxpayer identification number (ITIN)
  • Must not have a criminal record (note: if you have a criminal record, you can still get a real estate license but the final decision will depend on the California Department of Real Estate (DRE)

  1. Complete a 135-hour real estate pre-licensing course
  2. Apply for the California real estate exam
  3. Pass the California real estate exam
  4. Get fingerprinted
  5. Find a sponsoring broker
  6. Apply for your real estate license from the DRE

  • Must be at least 18 years old
  • Must be a US citizen or legal alien
  1. Take the mandatory 168-hour pre-licensing education from an accredited provider
  2. Pass the Colorado real estate licensing exam
  3. Get a background check and submit fingerprint requirements
  4. Secure an Errors and Omissions 
  • Must be at least 18 years old
  • Must be a US citizen or legal alien

  1. Complete 60 hours of pre-licensing education at an accredited school or organization
  2. Submit an application to the PSI for exam eligibility
  3. Pass the licensing exam
  4. Complete your application
  5. Find a sponsoring broker.

  • Must be at least 18 years old
  • Must be a US citizen or legal alien
  • Must have a high school diploma or equivalent (GED)
  1. Complete the required 99 hours of pre-licensing education
  2. Pass the Delaware Real Estate Salesperson Licensing Exam
  3. Choose a Delaware sponsoring broker
  4. Complete your application for the real estate 
  • Must be at least 18 years old
  • Must have a high school diploma or equivalent (GED)
  • Must have a United States social security number

  1. Complete 63 Hours of Approved Education
  2. Pass the Course Final Exam
  3. Submit Fingerprints
  4. Complete the Licensing Application
  5. Pass the Florida Real Estate Exam
  • Must be at least 18 years old
  • Must be a US citizen or legal alien
  • Must have a high school diploma or equivalent (GED)
  1. Take a 75-hour salesperson pre-licensing course
  2. Pass a background check
  3. Pass the Georgia real estate exam
  4. Find a sponsoring broker
  5. Apply for a real estate license

  • Must be at least 18 years old
  • Must have a high school diploma or equivalent (GED)
  • Must be a US citizen, a national, or a legal alien
  • Must have a Social Security Number
  • Must have a reputation of good character or record of competency, honesty, truthfulness, fair dealing, and financial integrity.
  1. Complete 60 hours of pre-licensing education from an accredited school or organization
  2. Sign up for an account with eHawaii for application purposes
  3. Pass the licensure exam
  4. Complete and submit your licensing application
  5. Find a sponsoring broker

  • Must be at least 18 years old
  • Must be a US citizen or legal alien
  • Must have a high school diploma or equivalent (GED)
  1. Take and pass the 90-hour Idaho real estate pre-licensing course
  2. Complete a background check and get fingerprinted
  3. Submit your application
  4. Get sponsored by a broker

  • Must be at least 18 years old
  • Must have a valid Social Security Number
  • Must have a high school diploma or equivalent (GED)
  1. Complete the required 75-hour pre-licensing education from an accredited provider
  2. Apply for the Illinois real estate license final exam
  3. Pass the Illinois real estate license final exam
  4. Find a sponsoring broker
  5. Complete your application

  • Must be at least 18 years old
  • Must be a US citizen or legal alien
  • Must have a high school diploma or equivalent (GED)
  1. Complete the mandatory 90-hour pre-licensing education from an approved provider
  2. Pass the final licensing exam
  3. Find a managing broker
  4. Apply for a license
  5. Complete the mandatory post-licensing education

  • Must be at least 18 years old
  • Must be a US citizen or legal alien
  • Must not have been denied a real estate license in the past 12 months
  • Must not have had a license revoked in Iowa or any other state in the past 2 years

  1. Take the required 60-hour pre-license course
  2. Complete the background check
  3. Pass the real estate licensure exam
  4. Find employment with a brokerage firm
  5. Complete the additional required courses
  6. Apply for a license

  • Must be at least 18 years old
  • Must be a US citizen or legal alien
  • Must have a high school diploma or equivalent (GED)
  1. Complete 60 hours of mandatory pre-licensing education
  2. Complete the background check requirement
  3.  Pass the Kansas real estate licensing exam
  4. Get a sponsoring broker
  5. Complete your application

  • Must be at least 18 years old
  • Must be a US citizen or legal alien
  • Must have a high school diploma or equivalent (GED)
  1. Take and pass an accredited 96-hour pre-licensing course
  2. Complete a background check
  3. Pass the final Kentucky real estate exam
  4. Submit your application
  5. Complete the required post-licensing course

  • Must be at least 18 years old
  • Must be a US citizen or legal alien
  • Must have a high school diploma or equivalent (GED)
  1. Take and pass a 90-hour accredited real estate pre-licensing course
  2. Complete a background check
  3. Pass the final Louisiana real estate exam
  4. Submit your application
  5. Get sponsorship from a broker
  6. Complete a post-licensing course

  • Must be at least 18 years old
  • Must be a US citizen or legal alien
  • Must have a high school diploma or equivalent (GED)

  1. Take and pass an accredited 55-hour pre-licensing course
  2. Pass the final Maine real estate exam
  3. Get a background check
  4. Submit your application
  5. Get sponsored by a broker

  • Must be at least 18 years old
  • Must be a US citizen or legal alien
  • Must have a high school diploma or equivalent (GED)
  1. Take and pass an accredited 60-hour pre-licensing course
  2. Pass the final Maryland real estate exam
  3. Get a background check
  4. Submit your application
  5. Get sponsored by a broker

  • Must be at least 18 years old
  • Must be a US citizen or legal alien
  • Must have a high school diploma or equivalent (GED)
  1. Take and pass an accredited 40-hour pre-licensing course
  2. Gain approval from the Massachusetts Board of Registration of Real Estate Brokers and Salespersons
  3. Pass the final Massachusetts licensing exam
  4. Get sponsored by a broker

  • Must be at least 18 years old
  • Must be a US citizen or legal alien
  • Must have a high school diploma or equivalent (GED)
  • Must have a Social Security Number
  1. Take and pass the 40-hour pre-licensing real estate course
  2. Submit an application to the Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (LARA)
  3. Pass the final Michigan real estate licensing exam
  4. Get sponsored by a broker

  • Must be at least 18 years old
  • Must be a US citizen or legal alien
  • Must have a high school diploma or equivalent (GED)
  1. Complete 3 3-hour (90 hours total) accredited pre-licensing courses
  2. Pass the final Minnesota real estate exam
  3. Get sponsored by a broker
  4. Submit your application and background check

  • Must be at least 18 years old
  • Must be a resident of Mississippi

  1. Complete 60 hours of an approved pre-licensing course
  2. Obtain sponsorship with an active Mississippi broker
  3. Apply for a real estate agent license
  4. Pass the Mississippi real estate exam
  5. Complete 30 hours of post-licensing education

  • Must be at least 18 years old
  • Must be a US citizen or legal alien
  • Must have a high school diploma or equivalent (GED)
  1. Complete 72 hours of mandatory pre-licensing education
  2. Pass the Missouri real estate exam
  3. Complete the background check
  4. Apply for a license
  5. Choose a sponsoring broker
  • Must be at least 18 years old
  • Must be a US citizen or legal alien
  • Must have a high school diploma or equivalent (GED)
  1. Complete 70 hours of approved Montana pre-licensing education
  2. Pass the Montana real estate exam.
  3. Obtain employment from a sponsoring broker
  4. Submit your application to the Commission

  • Must be at least 19 years old
  • Must be a US citizen or legal alien
  • Must have a high school diploma or equivalent (GED)
  1. Take 66-hours of accredited real estate pre-licensing courses
  2. Submit a real estate salesperson license application
  3. Complete a background check
  4. Pass the Nebraska real estate exam
  5. Complete license issuance

  • Must be at least 18 years old
  • Must be a US citizen or legal alien
  • Must have a high school diploma or equivalent (GED)
  1. Take and pass 120 hours of an accredited pre-licensing course
  2. Submit your fingerprints for a background check
  3. Pass the final Nevada real estate exam
  4. Submit a real estate license application to the NV Real Estate Division

  • Must be at least 18 years old
  • Must be a US citizen or legal alien
  • Must have a high school diploma or equivalent (GED)
  1. Take and pass 40 hours of an accredited pre-licensing course
  2. Pass the final New Hampshire real estate exam
  3. Submit a real estate license application to the NH Real Estate Commission
  4. Get sponsored by a broker

  • Must be at least 18 years old
  • Must be a US citizen or legal alien
  • Must have a high school diploma or equivalent (GED)
  1. Take and pass 75-hours of an accredited pre-licensing course
  2. Pass the final New Jersey real estate exam
  3. Submit an application to the New Jersey Real Estate Commission
  4. Get sponsored by a broker

  • Must be at least 18 years old
  • Must be a US citizen or legal alien
  • Must have a high school diploma or equivalent (GED)
  1. Take and pass 90-hours (30 hours x 3) of accredited pre-licensing courses
  2. Pass the final New Mexico real estate exam
  3. Submit your fingerprints for a background check
  4. Get a sponsoring qualifying broker
  5. Get Errors and Omission insurance
  6. Submit an application to the New Mexico Real Estate Commission

  • Must be at least 18 years old
  • Must be a US citizen or legal alien
  • Have no felony convictions

  1. Take and pass a 75-hour accredited pre-licensing course
  2. Pass the final New York real estate exam
  3. Obtain sponsorship from a broker
  4. Apply for a real estate license through the New York Real Estate Commission
  • Must be at least 18 years old
  • Must be a US citizen or legal alien
  1. Take and pass a 75-hour accredited pre-licensing course
  2. Submit an application to the North Carolina Real Estate Commission
  3. Pass the North Carolina real estate exam
  4. Get sponsored by a broker-in-charge
  5. Complete a real estate post-licensing course

  • Must be at least 18 years old
  • Must be a US citizen or legal alien
  • Must have a high school diploma or equivalent (GED)
  • Take and pass a 90-hour accredited pre-licensing course
  • Submit application and criminal history record
  • Pass the North Dakota real estate exam
  • Get sponsored by a broker
  • Submit final license application

  • Must be at least 18 years old
  • Must be a US citizen or legal alien
  • Must have a high school diploma or equivalent (GED)
  • Must hold a record for good moral character
  • Must not be convicted of felony or crime of moral turpitude
  • Must not have violated civil rights laws concerning real estate in the past two years

  1. Complete 120-hours of real estate pre-licensing education
  2. Find a sponsoring broker
  3. Submit Ohio real estate license application
  4. Pass the Ohio real estate exam

  • Must be at least 18 years old
  • Must be a US citizen or legal alien
  • Must be deemed a person of good moral character by the Oklahoma Real Estate Commission

  1. Complete the mandatory 90-hours of pre-licensing education
  2. Submit real estate application
  3. Pass the Oklahoma real estate exam
  4. Find a sponsoring broker

  • Must be at least 18 years old
  • Must be a US citizen or legal alien
  • Must have a high school diploma or equivalent (GED)
    1. Apply for your Oregon license
    2. Complete 150-hours of mandatory pre-licensing education
    3. Take the Oregon broker licensing exam
    4. Have your fingerprints taken
    5. Obtain a principal broker sponsor

    How to Get Your Real Estate License in Oregon

    • Must be at least 18 years old
    • Must be a US citizen or legal alien
    • Must have a high school diploma or equivalent (GED)
    • Must have a letter of good moral standing

    1. Complete the mandatory 75-hours of pre-licensing education
    2. Pass the Pennsylvania real estate exam
    3. Get a sponsoring broker
    4. Complete the Pennsylvania Salesperson Application

    • Must be at least 18 years old
    • Must be a US citizen or legal alien
    • Must have a high school diploma or equivalent (GED)
    1. Complete the mandatory 45-hours of pre-licensing education
    2. Complete a 3-hour lead paint course
    3. Pass the Rhode Island real estate exam
    4. Obtain a Criminal History Record (CHR)
    5. Get sponsored by a Principal Broker
    6. Apply for a real estate license

    • Must be at least 18 years old
    • Must be a US citizen or legal alien
    • Must have a high school diploma or equivalent (GED)
    1. Complete the mandatory 90-hours of pre-licensing education
    2. Submit an application for your real estate license
    3. Pass the South Carolina real estate exam
    4. Get sponsored by a broker
    5. Finalize your license application

    • Must be at least 18 years old
    • Must be a US citizen or legal alien
    • Must have a high school diploma or equivalent (GED)
    1. Complete the mandatory 116-hours of pre-licensing education
    2. Pass the South Dakota real estate exam
    3. Complete a background check
    4. Obtain Errors and Omissions insurance
    5. Apply for a real estate license
    6. Gain broker sponsorship

    • Must be at least 18 years old
    • Must be a US citizen or legal alien
    • Must have a high school diploma or equivalent (GED)
    • Must be a resident of Tennessee for at least 45 days

    1. Complete the mandatory 90-hours of pre-licensing education
    2. Pass the Tennessee real estate exam
    3. Complete a background check
    4. Get a sponsoring broker
    5. Obtain Errors and Omissions insurance
    6. Apply for a real estate license
    • Must be 18 years old or above
    • Must be an American citizen or a legal alien
    • Must be a legal resident of Texas
    • Must meet TREC’s qualifications of honesty, trustworthiness, and integrity

    1. Take 180-hours of pre-licensing education
    2. Complete a background check
    3. Submit your application to TREC
    4. Pass the real estate exam
    5. Obtain sponsorship from a broker and get your license!

    • Must be at least 18 years old
    • Must be a US citizen or legal alien
    • Must have a high school diploma or equivalent (GED)
    • Must not have a felony within the last 5 years, or a misdemeanor involving fraud, misrepresentation, theft, or dishonesty within the last 3 years
    1. Complete 120 hours of accredited pre-licensing education
    2. Pass the Utah real estate sales agent exam
    3. Submit an application to the Utah Division or Real Estate
    4. Obtain sponsorship from a broker

    • Must be at least 18 years old
    • Must be a US citizen or legal alien
    • Must have a high school diploma or equivalent (GED)
    • Must be a resident of Vermont

    1. Complete 40 hours of accredited pre-licensing education
    2. Pass the Vermont real estate exam
    3. Obtain sponsorship from a broker
    4. Submit real estate agent application
    5. Complete a real estate post-licensing course

    • Must be at least 18 years old
    • Must be a US citizen or legal alien
    • Must have a high school diploma or equivalent (GED)

    1. Complete 60 hours of accredited pre-licensing education
    2. Pass the Virginia real estate salesperson exam
    3. Complete fingerprint requirements
    4. Obtain sponsorship from a broker
    5. Submit real
      estate agent application

    • Must be at least 18 years old
    • Must be a US citizen or legal alien
    • Must have a high school diploma or equivalent (GED)
    1. Register with AMP/PSI
    2. Complete 90 hours of accredited pre-licensing education
    3. Pass the Washington real estate exam
    4. Complete a background check
    5. Find a sponsoring managing broker
    6. Submit real estate agent application

    • Must be at least 18 years old
    • Must be a US citizen or legal alien
    • Must have a high school diploma or equivalent (GED)
    1. Complete 90 hours of accredited pre-licensing education
    2. Find a licensed sponsoring broker
    3. Complete a background check
    4. Submit a real estate license application
    5. Pass the West Virginia final real estate exam

    • Must be at least 18 years old
    • Must be a US citizen or legal alien
    • Must have a high school diploma or equivalent (GED)
    1. Complete a 720hour real estate pre-licensing course
    2. Pass the Wisconsin real estate exam
    3. Find a sponsoring broker
    4. Submit your license application

    • Must be at least 18 years old
    • Must be a US citizen or legal alien
    • Must have a high school diploma or equivalent (GED)
    1. Complete the 54-hour real estate pre-licensing education
    2. Pass the Wyoming real estate exam
    3. Complete a background check
    4. Obtain Errors & Omissions insurance
    5. Find a broker sponsorship
    6. Complete your real estate license application

    Real Estate Licensing Frequently Asked Questions 

    Now that we’ve seen all the requirements, let’s answer some of the most frequently asked questions by aspiring real estate agents about state licensing requirements! 

    Can You Get a Real Estate License in a State You Don't Live In? 

    Yes. If you already have a real estate agent license in your home state, you may be eligible to obtain another state’s license even if you don’t live in that state. 

    Some states have real estate license reciprocity agreements with other states. This means that if you are already licensed in your home state, you can easily apply for a license from a reciprocal state (most of the requirements, such as taking real estate courses, will no longer be necessary). 

    For example, agents in Pennsylvania will find it super easy to get a New York license since these states have reciprocal agreements. 

    However, if you don’t have a license yet, you will need to get it from your home state first (since most states require you to be a resident before applying). 

    Can You Have a Real Estate License in Multiple States?

    Yes. Thanks to real estate license reciprocity agreements between states, you can hold real estate licenses from multiple states at the same time. 

    Back to our example, Pennsylvania real estate agents may also have a New York, Maryland, and Massachusetts (+ a few more states) license at the same time. 

    Because these states are close to one another, reciprocity agreements make it easy for PA agents to assist PA residents who may want to buy property in these nearby states. 

    Can Real Estate Agents Sell in Another State Without Having the State’s License?

    Yes. This depends on the state’s regulations on real estate portability. 

    Some states have portability agreements that allow license holders to work between partner states without having to obtain the partner state’s license. 

    There are three types of states when it comes to real estate portability. 

    Cooperative states allow for agents to practice real estate freely in both states. 

    Physical location states don’t allow out-state agents to enter the state to work. The out-state agent can assist buyers, but this must be remote work. 

    Finally, Turf states do NOT allow any out-state agents to work within their borders. You must have the state’s license to practice real estate in turf states. Examples of turf states are Kentucky, Missouri, Nebraska, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, and Utah.

    What’s the Difference Between Reciprocity and Portability for Real Estate Agents?

    infographic showing the difference between reciprocity vs portability for real estate agents

    When two states have a reciprocal agreement, agents from one state don’t have to go through the full requirements to get a license from the other state. 

    For example, a Georgia agent who wants to work in Alabama can apply for a reciprocal license. This means they only have to take 6-hours of education (instead of the required 60-hours for new agents) and pass the Alabama exam. 

    When two states have a portability agreement, agents do NOT have to apply for another license to work in partner states. 

    They will, however, have to work under a local licensed brokerage. 

    To find a state-by-state reciprocity guide, check out this article by The CE Shop. 

    Can I Become a Real Estate Agent With a Felony?

    Most states require you to have a clean record in order to get a license. However, not all states are as strict as others.

    For a full list, visit our How to Get a Real Estate License with a Felony page! 

    What is the Easiest State to Get a Real Estate License In? 

    The easiest states to get a real estate license in are Massachusetts and Michigan. 

    Both of these states only require 40 hours of pre-licensing education. 

    Alaska, New Hampshire, and Vermont also only require 40 hours. But unlike MA and MI, AK and NH require post-licensing education, while you can't enjoy a full online learning experience in VT (only traditional or Zoom classes).  

    What is the Most Difficult State to Get a Real Estate License In? 

    Texas is widely considered as the most difficult state to get a real estate license in. 

    This is thanks to the fact that they have the longest required pre-licensing course in the country at 180 hours. Texas real estate agents are also required to take 18 hours of continuation education every two years.

    Another state that is well-known for long pre-licensing education is Colorado, with 168 hours of required education before you can get your license. 

    How Can I Become a Real Estate Agent?

    The process of becoming a real estate agent differs from state to state (see chart above!). 

    However, there are a few steps that are the same in almost every state. These are:

    1. Meet the minimum requirements in your state
    2. Complete an approved real estate education
    3. Complete the real estate license exam for your state
    4. Submit your fingerprints or go through a background check
    5. Get sponsorship from a licensed broker
    6. Apply for a real estate license from your state’s real estate commission

    Here’s how to do it in Texas: 

    Can I Take My Real Estate Education Online? 

    Yes! Most states allow you to complete the pre-licensing education requirements online. 

    To do this, you need to make sure you are taking real estate classes that are approved by your state’s commission of real estate. 

    If you’re looking for an online real estate school, visit our homepage to see a list of all the best schools for every state! 

    What’s the Best Online Real Estate School? 

    There are several great options, but we recommend either Aceable Agent or Real Estate Express

    Aceable Agent is one of the newest real estate licensing schools around. Their coursework is super modern, making it very easy and fun to get through. You can check out this video to see what it looks like inside Aceable Agent: 

    The modern and fun UX of Aceable Agent makes getting through the hours of education a lot easier, especially for people in Texas who have to study for 180 hours!

    The only downside to Aceable Agent is that it’s so new, it isn’t approved in a lot of states yet. 

    That’s why if you aren’t living in AZ, CA, CO, FL, GA, MI, NY, PA, SC, TN, TX, or VA, we recommend Real Estate Express

    Real Estate Express is approved in most states. 

    They’ve been around for a long time already. But despite that, their course is still highly modern. 

    You can see what it looks like in this video: 

    Conclusion

    And there you have it! 

    All the real estate license requirements by state. 

    We hope this chart has answered any questions you might have had. But if you’re still looking for more information, then visit our full guide for your state in the chart above! 

    Good luck getting your real estate license! 

    Compare The Best Real Estate Schools!

    Subscribe to our newsletter now!

    >