For anyone looking to get their real estate salesperson license in Nebraska, this article is for you.
With all the requirements and steps, it can be confusing which one to do first.
What documents do you need to prepare?
What is the best real estate pre-licensing course in the state?
We’re going to answer all that and more for you here.
This complete 2022 guide on how to get a real estate license online in Nebraska will cover everything you need to know. Not only that, but I’ll add in some tips and notes as well.
Plus, I’ll answer some of the most frequently asked questions at the end. So you won’t have to look anywhere else.
So are you ready?
Who Can Get a Real Estate License in Nebraska?
Before anything else…
Are you even qualified to get a real estate salesperson license in Nebraska?
If you can check all these boxes, then yes, you’re qualified.
- You are at least 19 years old
- You have a high school diploma OR GED OR evidence of a homeschool program from the Department of Education
- You are a US citizen or legal alien
What are the Steps to Getting a Real Estate License Online in Nebraska?
To get a salesperson license, follow these steps:
- Take a real estate pre-licensing course
- Submit a real estate salesperson license application
- Complete a background check
- Pass the Nebraska real estate exam
- Complete license issuance
Let’s get into the details.
1. Take a real estate pre-licensing course
In total, you need to finish 66 hours of real estate pre-licensing courses in Nebraska. That equals to:
- 30 hours of Nebraska License Law
- 30 hours of Real Estate Principles and Practices
- 6 hours of Developing Professional Conduct and Ethical Practices
Note: the school you take the course from should be approved by the Nebraska Real Estate Commission (NREC). If not, then they won’t approve your certificate of completion.
As our focus is online, I’d like to take this time to recommend one of the best online real estate schools to you. This is the one and only Colibri Real Estate.
Colibri Real Estate stands out as it:
- Is NREC-approved
- Is one of the most reputable and trustworthy online real estate school in the US
- Is 100% online for your convenience
- Sends you an electronic certificate of completion if you pass the course exam
- Sends the NREC a roster of those who successfully completed the course
- Has the required 66 hours of real estate pre-licensing courses
- Comes with other great resources, including a state-approved instructor, 2 real estate ebooks, Exam Prep, 1-year Professional Development Membership, and so much more (depending on the package you select)
- Offers great live support if you have any questions or concerns
- Has excellent ratings and reviews
If that sounds like something you’re looking for, then don’t hesitate to check them out!
Have a look inside their real estate pre-licensing course:
2. Submit a real estate salesperson license application
Once you receive your certificate of completion, you can now apply for a real estate salesperson license.
Again, you can do this step completely online. Yay!
All you need to do is go to NREC’s online application portal and follow the instructors. Don’t worry, it’s pretty straightforward.
As for what you’ll need to prepare, here’s a checklist you can refer to:
- Identification photo – it should just be you, show your head and shoulders, be at least 2 x 2” in size, and be taken within the last year. Photos of your IDs are NOT accepted.
- Application and examination fees of $135 and $150, respectively – you can pay with Visa or MasterCard, Discover, or American Express. Debit cards are NOT accepted.
- Education background certificates – this can be your high school diploma, GED diploma, or proof of homeschooling from the Department of Education. Foreign graduate diplomas should meet the academic requirements in the US.
- Proof of 66 hours of real estate pre-licensing courses – this is your certificate of completion that you received from your real estate school. Note: approved real estate schools will submit your completion verification within 10 days of course completion.
- Proof of lawful presence in the United States
After you submit all that, the Commission may take a few days to process your application. If accepted, they will notify you and send you 2 fingerprint cards with instructions (if you apply online, you’ll need to call the NREC office at (402) 471-2004 to receive these cards).
Tip: if you want to track your application process, you can check it here. You will have to create an account, though.
Tip II: your approved application is only valid for 1 year, so it’s best to do the next steps as soon as possible.
3. Complete a background check
As I mentioned, the fingerprint cards that the Commission gives you come with instructions. Make sure to follow it if you don’t want any delays.
Now, you can get your fingerprints at any law enforcement agency. However, I, and the NREC, recommend you go to a Nebraska State Patrol office.
The reason is that they use a Livescan machine (which makes the images clearer), plus they don’t overcharge like some other agencies.
Here are the office locations of the Nebraska State Patrol:
- Lincoln: The Upland Business Center, 3800 NW 12 St Ste A
M-F, 8:00 am-4:00 pm
Call for Appointment: (402)479-4971
- Grand Island: 3431 Potash St.
Monday, 10:00 am-12:00 pm and 1:00 pm-3:00 pm
Call for Appt: (308)385-6000
- Norfolk: 1401 Eisenhower Avenue
1st and 3rd Tuesdays, 9:30 am-11:30 am
Call for Appt: (402)370-3456
- North Platte: 300 W South River Rd
M-F, 9:00 am-5:00 pm
Call for Appt: (308)535-8047
- Scottsbluff: 4500 Avenue I
Wednesday 1:00 pm-4:00 pm
Call for Appt: (308)632-1211
Once there, you should take your fingerprints, fill out the fingerprint cards (make sure it is complete and readable), get the cards signed by you and the fingerprint technician, and pay the fee of $38 (money order or check made payable to the Nebraska State Patrol).
Also, don’t forget to bring an identification ID issued by the state or federal government!
Okay, here’s what you should know.
If you go to any office other than the Lincoln one, you’ll have to send the fingerprint cards, along with the payment, in a stamped envelope to:
Nebraska State Patrol
3800 NW 12th Street, Suite A
Lincoln, NE 68521
This is because the Nebraska State Patrol’s main office is in Lincoln.
Note: make sure the envelope you use is big enough to fit the fingerprint cards. You don’t want to fold them as that might make it hard to read.
Tip: before you leave the fingerprint center, double-check the fingerprint cards if everything is complete.
When submitted, all you need to do is wait while the State Patrol goes through a thorough background check. They will then send the results straight to the Commission.
From there, the Commission will email you on whether you passed the background check or not.
Tip: since the background check can take around 4 to 6 weeks, it’s best to do it as soon as you receive your fingerprint cards from the Commission.
4. Pass the Nebraska real estate exam
If you get the thumbs-up signal from the NREC, the next step is to schedule and pass the Nebraska real estate exam.
Note: the Nebraska real estate exam is conducted by the PSI.
So, to schedule an appointment, go to the PSI website, create an account (make sure your first and last name matches with the Commission’s file), select your exam and enter your Social Security Number…
When your record is found, you need to enter your Zip Code and choose your desired test site and exam date/time.
If you need special disability accommodation in the test site, you must provide documentation of disability from a doctor, psychiatrist, education professional, etc… when scheduling (also when submitting your license application to the NREC).
Note: if, for some reason, you cannot make the scheduled date, make sure to cancel or reschedule 2 days before the appointment. This is so you will not forfeit your examination fee.
What should you bring to the test site?
Here’s a checklist you can refer to:
- 2 forms of identification – one must have a photo (driver’s license, passport…) and the other must have your name and signature
- Calculator for the math questions – only silent, handheld, solar/battery powered, non-printing, no alphabetic keypad calculators are allowed inside the examination room
- Yourself – arrive at least 30 minutes earlier than your schedule for sign-in and identification check. If you arrive 15 minutes late, then your exam appointment will be canceled.
As for the exam itself, there are 2 portions:
- National – consists of 80 questions that you need to answer in 150 minutes (2.5hrs). Passing score is 60 correct answers.
- State – consists of 50 questions that you need to answer in 90 minutes (1.5hrs). Passing score is 38 correct answers.
The exam will be conducted on a computer. Don’t worry, you’re given 15 minutes to take a tutorial before you begin.
If you pass, you will be given a successful score report with your photo.
But what if you fail?
You can always retake it. However, you’ll have to reapply with the NREC, reschedule with the PSI, and pay the examination fee again. This should be done the next day.
Tip: if you want to pass the exam on your first try, I recommend you take an Exam Prep course. Colibri Real Estate offers this. You can also take practice tests from the PSI or our FREE practice test.
5. Complete license issuance
Finally, you’ve arrived at the last step!
Not too fast.
There are still a few more requirements that you need to fulfill.
For one, you need to find an employing broker to work for, then get Errors & Omission insurance.
When looking for an employing broker, ask yourself these questions:
- What commission split do they offer?
- Do they provide training and mentorship?
- What other resources do they offer?
- Do they follow a strict schedule or allow you to work whenever?
- Should I go for an independent or franchised brokerage?
- Is the employing broker/brokerage firm reputable?
As for your E&O insurance, the Commission offers its own coverage plan that you can avail of. What’s great about this is that the insurer will automatically notify the Commission of your coverage.
Once you have everything you need, here is how you can complete your license issuance online:
- Go to the NREC online portal
- Specify if you want to receive an “active” or “inactive” license
- Pay a license fee of $80
- Submit your original exam score report with photo. Photocopies are NOT accepted.
- Submit the License Issuance Form, signed by you and your employing broker. Note: employing broker signature is not required if you want to receive an inactive license.
- If you don’t do the E&O insurance Commission-offered plan, you need to submit a Certificate of Equivalent Coverage form completed by your insurer.
Note: you need to submit everything within 30 days of receiving your passing score report.
There you have it!
All there’s left to do is wait for your real estate salesperson license to arrive!
Real Estate License in Nebraska FAQs
As promised, I’m going to answer some of the most frequently asked questions.
So let’s begin.
How long does it take to get your real estate license?
I’d say it will take around 2-5 months from starting your education to actually receiving the license.
The longest step is going to be your real estate pre-licensing course. So it will depend on how fast/slow you finish it.
Note: most real estate pre-licensing courses are only available for 6 months.
Another thing that might cause some delay is all the waiting you need to do. For example, you have to wait for your application to be confirmed, for your fingerprints to be processed, and all that.
How much does it cost to become a real estate agent in Nebraska?
Yes, you need to put in some investment to get a real estate license in Nebraska.
Here is a list of the expenses you need to pay:
- Real estate pre-licensing course – this will depend on the school you attend, but on average, an online real estate school can cost around $200-500.
- License application fee – $135
- Exam fee – $150
- Fingerprint/background check fee – $38 (if taken with the Nebraska State Patrol)
- License issuance fee – $80
In total, it will cost around $600-900 to become a real estate agent/salesperson.
How much money do real estate agents make in Nebraska?
Of course, it will depend on your commission split, how many work hours you put in, and how many leads/sales you acquire.
If we’re talking about average, real estate agents in Nebraska earn around $43,600 per year.
Can I get a real estate license online in Nebraska?
For your complete convenience, the Nebraska Real Estate Commission allows you to complete most of the requirements online. This includes taking the pre-licensing course, scheduling for your exam, and completing license issuance.
So that is our complete 2022 guide on how to get a real estate license online in Nebraska.
We hope that it has cleared your confusion and answered all your questions.
Yes, the whole process will take time, dedication, and even investment. But in the end, it will be totally worth it!
Wishing you the best of luck in your journey!