In New Hampshire, getting a real estate license may seem like a tough task, especially when you’re managing a day job.
The good news is that it’s not as hard as you might think. Sure, it’ll take time, dedication, and investment, but there are actually only 4 steps to the whole process.
So what are the 4 steps?
Here, I’ll give you a complete guide on how to get a real estate license online in New Hampshire. With this, you’ll know exactly where to start and what to do.
So let’s get to it!
Types of Real Estate Courses in New Hampshire
While many different types of real estate courses exist, you won’t need to take all of them to get your license.
Still, it’s good to know the 4 main types of real estate courses in New Hampshire. These are:
Pre-Licensing Real Estate Course
A pre-licensing course is the only course you’ll need to get your real estate license in New Hampshire. This course goes over all the fundamentals of real estate such as basic laws, regulations, and selling etiquette.
Broker Real Estate Course
A broker real estate course is an entirely optional one-time course taken by established agents looking to start their own brokerage firm. This is if you want to take your real estate career even further.
Post-Licesning Real Estate Courses
In New Hampshire, you’ll be required to complete a post-licensing course before you renew your salesperson real estate license for the first time. Remember, this is only required if you’re renewing your license for the first time. The course is 12 hours long.
After you’ve taken this course, the next time you renew your license, you’ll take continuing education courses.
Continuing Education Real Estate Courses
A continuing education course is a collection of learning modules that are taken by all real estate salespersons every 2 years in order to renew their license. This course contains fundamental concepts as well as any changes to the laws and regulations that may have occurred.
Qualifications for Real Estate License in New Hampshire
To be eligible for a license, you must:
- Be at least 18-years old
- Hold a high-school diploma or GED
- Be a US citizen or legal alien
4 Steps to Getting a Real Estate License Online in New Hampshire
Here’s a summary of the 4 steps required to obtain a real estate license in New Hampshire:
Step 1: Take and pass a real estate pre-licensing course
Step 2: Pass the New Hampshire real estate exam
Step 3: Submit a real estate license application to the NH Real Estate Commission
Step 4: Get sponsored by a broker
Let’s take a closer look at each step below.
Step 1: Take and Pass a Real Estate Pre-Licensing Course
Before anything else, you’ll have to study the 40-hour pre-licensing real estate course in New Hampshire.
To gain the course completion certificate, you need to pass the course’s final exam. This certificate is required if you want to apply for the New Hampshire real estate exam.
Note: Don’t just take the course to check a box. You need to study it to learn about your new career and also help you pass the New Hampshire real estate exam on the first try.
Looking for a feature-rich learning experience?
We highly recommend The Real Estate Class.
The Real Estate Class is an online real estate school you won’t want to miss out on.
Providing a Zoom-based course for under $400, you’ll get access to experienced instructors and easy-to-understand reading material. This will get you up to speed with everything you need to know about real estate and to ace the final exam.
Unlike other live online courses, you’ll get a lot of different course timings to choose from, perfect if you’re managing a busy schedule.
Step 2: Pass the New Hampshire Real Estate Exam
After you’ve received your certificate of completion, you then have to take and pass the New Hampshire Real Estate Exam.
To apply for the exam, sfill uubmit an application to the NH Real Estate Commission.
Within the application, you’ll have to include proof of course completion and personal details, such as your social security number. Also, you’ll need to pay an exam fee of $155.
Note: You have to apply for the NH Real Estate exam within 6 months of completing your pre-licensing course.
The exam will be conducted by the PSI at local examination centers across New Hampshire. To schedule a date, visit the PSI website after you’ve received your login details. (You will receive your login details when your application is approved.)
As for the exam itself, it consists of a state and national portion, amounting to 140 questions in total. You have 3.5 hours to complete it. To pass, you need a minimum of 70%.
Step 3: Submit a Real Estate License Application to the NH Real Estate Commission
The next thing you’ll need to do is submit another application, this time for the actual real estate license, to the NH Real Estate Commission.
Note: You should do this within 6 months of completing the NH real estate exam.
To do that, complete this application form.
The form will ask for proof of exam completion, criminal record statement, personal details, and a fee of $90.
To get a criminal record statement, fill in this application form and request a statement from the NH police. This will cost you around $25.
Now, while felons may still be eligible for a real estate license, the final decision will rest with the NH Real Estate Commission and how trustworthy they deem you. This will depend on the severity of the crime.
Step 4: Get Sponsored by a Broker
After all that, the final step is to get broker sponsorship to active your real estate license.
Even though this is the last step, always take care not to rush through this process. I mean, the broker you choose will shape your real estate career.
Take time to evaluate all the local brokers available based on their reputation, commission fees, experience, and corporate culture.
Different brokers may have different expectations when it comes to their agents. Some may demand formal dressing and strict adherence to set work times, while others may be more flexible and informal.
Real Estate License in New Hampshire FAQs
How long is the pre-licensing course in New Hampshire?
In New Hampshire, the pre-licensing course is 40 hours long. Before you complain, know that this is actually on the lower end of the spectrum, considering how aspiring agents in California have to complete over 120 hours to get licensed.
Unfortunately, these courses are timed in New Hampshire. So you won’t be able to complete it in less than 40 hours regardless of how quickly you learn.
When do I have to take continuing education (CE) courses in New Hampshire?
In New Hampshire, you’ll have to complete CE courses every 2 years before renewing your real estate license. You’ll need to complete 15 hours - 3 hours of CORE courses and 12 hours of electives.
Luckily, McKissock, a renowned online real estate school, is an easy and affordable option that’ll give you the convenience of getting done with all the requirements from the comfort of your home.
Plus, they offer valuable packages that give you all the CE courses in the state and so much more!
How much do real estate courses cost in New Hampshire?
The cost of real estate courses will depend on the learning method and school you choose. In-person schools normally cost $500 above.
All in all, while the process may be a bit confusing at first, the step-by-step guide listed above includes everything you need to know about real estate licensing in New Hampshire.
The real estate schools mentioned can also help in getting done with the learning requirements as easy as pie.
So what are you waiting for?
Apply today to get one step closer to a new and fulfilling career!