Getting a Utah real estate license sets you up for a career you can flourish in. Without a 4-year traditional degree, a Utah real estate agent can expect to make an average of $37,600 per year, and this number can quickly rise to near $90,000 with experience and ambition. For young people looking to go against the grain in terms of career path, or established professionals searching for a way to live with more flexibility, getting a Utah real estate license is a smart choice.
Each state observes their own requirements as they pertain to real estate licenses, and Utah is no exception. Before pursuing your real estate license in any state, it’s important to investigate the exact requirements outlined by that state and to make sure you’re eligible for the career path you’re choosing.
Best Online Real Estate Schools For 2021
Utah Real Estate License Requirements
The requirements to obtain a Utah real estate license are simple.
First and foremost, a person must be at least 18 years of age and have earned a high school diploma or GED equivalent before enrolling in their chosen real estate license program. While some states observe a 21-year-old age requirement, Utah is with the majority of the United States by requiring prospective real estate agents to be at least 18.
For young people who might not want to go with the traditional 4-year college degree route, this presents an exciting option. Upon completion of their real estate salesperson program, they can be ready to work full-time in their chosen career field within the span of a year or two, and without all of the debt that comes along with a 4-year college degree. Utah real estate license holders make a comfortable living wage, and the profession itself leaves a great deal of room for growth and opportunity.
Next, a person must be able to pass a background check that shows they meet the requirements of honesty, integrity, truthfulness, reputation, and competency. This doesn’t mean that those with prior convictions will automatically be denied, but their background check will be reviewed and any infractions considered. An applicant will not qualify for their Utah real estate license if they have been convicted of a felony at any point within the past 5 years, or if any misdemeanors within the last 3 years involve fraud, misrepresentation, theft, or dishonesty.
Once all of the basic requirements are met, you can begin looking into your chosen education program. Utah requires 120 hours of approved education from an accredited program and once finished, you must apply for licensure within 1 year. Online programs like those at Real Estate Express and Mbition offer a great option for those who want flexibility not only in their career but their education as well. These online programs allow you to complete your 120 credit hours of education online and in your own time, so you won’t need to juggle an already busy schedule with in-person coursework. For working professionals who want to change their career path, this option for online schooling makes going back to school the feasible option it may not have been before.
Next, you’ll have to pass the real estate salesperson exam, which is taken in person at a Pearson Vue testing center. Each attempt at taking the exam comes along with a fee, so the big goal is to try your hardest to pass on your first try. Exam prep courses like those offered at Real Estate Express and Mbition go over all of the materials covered on the Utah real estate license exam and allow you to practice with mock tests so you know just what type of experience to expect.
After the passing of your exam, you then have 90 days to file your Utah real estate license application. The various documents and materials that must be submitted with your application in order to be approved include:
- The completed and signed application given to you at the testing center upon completion of your exam
- Signed certificates from your education program
- Signed responses to qualifying questionnaire
- Fingerprint cards or electronic fingerprint records
- $152 fee
- Completed certificate of legal presence
With all qualifying materials, and after meeting all requirements, your application should be approved and at this time you will earn your Utah real estate license.
Keeping Your Utah Real Estate License Active
Becoming a real estate professional in Utah, or any state within the US, is not a once and done thing. You will be required to continue your education going forward in order to keep your license in good standing. Like the basic and initial pre-licensure education requirements, Utah also observes its own unique renewal requirements as well.
For your first renewal, you will be required to take 18 continuing education credit hours of education, and this will be comprised of a 12 hour New Sales Agent course and an additional 6 hours of either core or elective courses. After your first renewal, you will still need to complete 18 continuing education credit hours, but these will be comprised of 9 hours of approved core topics and 9 hours of elective topics. Elective topics really allow Utah real estate professionals to develop specialty or expertise areas in order to better serve their respective clients.
Your continuing education must be completed every 24 months by the 15th of the month of expiration, and failure to complete your continuing education on time will incur a late fee of $50. If you are more than 1 year late, the late fee goes away and instead you must go through the initial application process all over again in order to be issued a new Utah real estate license altogether.
Online programs allow you to take your pre-licensure courses and your post-licensure courses using the same simple service. Rather than having to find a place to continue your education, you’ll be able to take advantage of the user-friendliness and the methods you are already comfortable with.