Looking to get a real estate license in Maine?
Don’t know where to start?
Well, you’re in luck!
While many people look towards a career in real estate to earn a bit of extra cash or to escape the monotony of a desk job, the licensing process can be a bit complicated if you don’t know how to start.
The good news is, in Maine, you’ll be allowed to take a real estate course completely online, which is great if you’re on a tight schedule.
I’ve listed a step-by-step process that’ll fill you in on everything you need to know about getting your real estate license online in Maine down below.
Let’s get into it.
Types of Real Estate Courses
For those looking to get a license, the number of courses available can make things quite confusing.
Well, there are 4 main types of courses:
Pre-Licensing/Salesperson Real Estate Course
A pre-licensing real estate course is the only course you’ll need to complete to get a license in Maine. The course consists of the fundamental learning modules every realtor must know before they start their career.
Note: In Maine, this license cannot be renewed and after a 2 year period, you’ll have to apply for an associate broker license.
Associate Broker Real Estate Course
An associate broker real estate course must be completed within 2 years after you’ve received your salesperson license. This 60-hour course takes your real estate concepts up a level by providing you greater insight into intermediate real estate concepts.
Broker Real Estate Course
A broker real estate course is for established agents looking to take their careers to the next level. While most agents won’t need this course (it isn’t mandatory), doing it will allow you to set up your own real estate broker agency.
Continuing Education Real Estate Course
Continuing education courses are learning modules that you’ll have to complete every time you renew your license. In Maine, renewal is every 2 years.
These courses consist of details regarding important changes in laws and regulations while going over a few fundamental principles of real estate that every real estate professional must remember. These courses must be completed after you’ve obtained an associate broker license.
Requirements for A Real Estate License in Maine
To be eligible for a license, you must:
- Be at least 18-years old
- Hold a high-school diploma, GED, or equivalent
- Complete and pass the 55 hour Sales Agent Course
- Pass the State final exam
- Pass the background check
- Be sponsored by a broker
A Step by Step Guide on How to Get a Real Estate License Online in Maine
Here’s a summary of all the steps involved in getting your license:
Step 1: Take and pass an online real estate course
Step 2: Pass the final Maine real estate exam
Step 3: Fill out and submit your application and background check
Step 4: Get sponsored by a broker
Let’s take a closer look at each step below.
Step 1: Take and Pass an Online Real Estate Course
First things first, to get a real estate license, you’ll need to complete all the mandatory educational courses. The pre-licensing course in Maine is 55 hours long.
After you’ve gone through the whole course, you’ll have to pass the final test with a minimum of 75% in order to receive your course completion certificate (which is mandatory to apply for a license).
Real Estate Institute of New England is a great online option to get done with the educational requirements at home.
With live Zoom classes, you’ll get the benefits of being in a real classroom, such as having a live instructor. But you’ll also get the benefits of online studying, such as being able to complete the course at home.
This school also offers Associate Broker courses for when you need to complete that requirement, as well as Broker courses if you want to upgrade.
Step 2: Pass the Final Maine Real Estate Exam
After you’ve passed your course, you’ll need to take the final Maine state exam conducted in person at a local testing center. The Pearson VUE test will cost around $80 and you’ll get a total of 4 hours to finish it.
Make sure to take all necessary documents and certificates with you when you go to your designated examination center. For more information regarding documents and testing procedures, you may want to consult the Pearson student’s guide.
Step 3: Fill Out and Submit Your Application and Background Check
After you’ve passed the final exam, you’ll have to submit a background check to prove your “honesty, truthfulness, fair-dealing, and competency.”
Basically, the background check will look at your record to see if you have any felonies that may make you ineligible to receive a license.
While felons may still be eligible for a license, that will be entirely up to the Maine Real Estate Commission and you may need to attend a hearing to provide further information.
In the application, you’ll have to provide documents to confirm your identity, along with proof of passing the final exam. The application will cost around $100, while the background check will cost around $20.
If you chose to mail your application be sure to mail it to the following address:
35 State House Station
Maine 04333 C
Step 4: Get Sponsored by a Broker
After you’ve completed all the paperwork, the last step is to find a broker to sponsor you before starting your real estate career.
When choosing a broker, make sure to check out all the brokers in your area. Different brokers have different expectations from their agents, with some treating them like their employees while others give you complete freedom to do things your way.
Also, be sure to check their reliability by looking into reviews and local satisfaction with the broker. Selecting the right one will allow you to gain a wealth of invaluable experience that can set you up for success.
Often agents rush through this process and regret it later. So even though you’re excited to get started, take your time and be sure to select the best broker fit for you.
Maine Online Real Estate License FAQs
How long is the pre-licensing course in Maine?
The pre-licensing course is 55 hours long.
You might complain. However, the 55 hour Maine pre-licensing course is rather short when compared to other states. Some states can go up to 140 hours of learning modules.
To be sure, there aren’t any timers if you take the course completely online. This way, you can finish it as fast or as slow as you want.
Note: online real estate courses usually expire after 6 months.
When should I renew my Maine real estate license?
After every 2 years, you’ll have to renew your license by completing 21 hours of CE courses (this is after you get your Associate Broker license). Failure to complete the required continuing education courses can result in license suspension.
Luckily, McKissock, a leading online real estate school, provides affordable and convenient online CE courses in Maine that are a breeze to complete, regardless of how busy your schedule is.
They even offer a CE Plus Membership that includes all available CE courses in the state. In addition, they offer extra webinars, content, and materials to take your real estate game to the next level.
Is there a post-licensing course in Maine?
In Maine, you won’t have to complete any post-licensing course after you get your license. Instead, you’ll have to take the Associate Broker course after your first 2 years, then the mandatory continuing education courses every time you renew your license.
Should I take my real estate course online or in-person?
While in-person courses have their benefits, in that they allow for a more social learning environment and direct interaction with your instructor, the rigid schedule can be tough to deal with if you’re on a tight schedule.
This is where online courses shine, allowing you to complete all the educational requirements from the comfort of your own home, at the time of your choosing.
Additionally, online courses also provide Zoom-based learning methods that’ll allow you to receive the full classroom experience at home so you won’t need to spend time in the midday traffic to get to your real estate school.
The steps listed above provide everything you need to know about getting your license in Maine.
So to recap:
- You need to take the 55-hour pre-licensing course and pass the course exam
- You need to take and pass the Maine final exam
- You need to get a background check, fill up the application form, and submit it
- You need to find a sponsoring broker before you can begin
- After your first 2 years, you need to take an Associate Broker course
- After every 2 years, you need to take CE courses
Sure, getting your Maine real estate license will require dedication and hard work, but it isn’t actually difficult to get one and start a new career.
So what are you waiting for?
Pick an online course and get started with your journey to a new career today!