It isn’t hard to become a mortgage loan officer in Kansas…
But if you don’t know the process, it can be a bit overwhelming.
Where do you start?
What do you do next?
This complete guide on how to become a mortgage loan officer (MLO) in Kansas will help with that.
Here, you will walk with us through all the steps.
And we won’t skip anything.
This way, the whole journey becomes even easier for you.
So shall we?
How to Become an MLO in Kansas – The 6 Steps
Here’s a brief rundown of all the steps to becoming an MLO in Kansas:
- Create an account with NMLS
- Complete the MLO pre-licensure education
- Pass the SAFE MLO test
- Complete the background checks
- Find a sponsorship
- Submit your application
Let’s take a close look at each step.
Step #1: Create an Account with NMLS
When it comes to mortgage loan officers, all license activities are done in the Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System (NMLS).
Now, you need to create an account to get your unique ID number. You’ll need this number throughout the process and your new career.
To create an account with NMLS, follow these steps:
- Go to the NMLS website.
- Request an account.
- Choose your account type.
- Enter the security code.
- Fill out the online form.
Step #2: Complete the MLO Pre-Licensure Education
In Kansas, you’re required to complete at least 20 hours of MLO pre-licensure education (PE).
First, the course needs to be approved by the NMLS.
Second, the course should include at least:
- 3 hours of Federal Law
- 3 hours of Ethics
- 2 hours of Non-Traditional Mortgage Lending
- 12 hours of electives
You can choose to go the traditional way — studying the topics in a classroom.
Or, you can enjoy the convenience of an online school.
If you choose the latter, then here are some quality and approved schools to check out:
Step #3: Pass the SAFE MLO Test
Once you’ve completed your education, you’ll be able to sit for the SAFE MLO test.
Again, you can choose to take it at a test center or online.
Either way, you’ll first have to register for it through NMLS.
- On your NMLS account, click ‘MLO Testing & Education’.
- Create a test enrollment window.
- Select ‘National Test with Uniform State Content’, then the ‘SAFE MLO Test’.
- Add the exam to your court.
- Confirm everything in the Candidate Agreement.
- Go to ‘Pay Invoice’ and pay the fee. This will cost you $110.
- Go back to the ‘MLO Testing & Education’ and select ‘Manage Test Appointment’.
- Pick if you’ll take the exam at a center or online. If online, you can schedule for it right there and then.
If you decide to take the exam at a test center, you have to schedule with Prometric.
For more information about the exam itself, check out our FAQ section below.
Step #4: Complete the Background Checks
In Kansas, you’ll need to provide two background checks to the NMLS. These are:
- A federal criminal background check (CBC)
- A credit report
Here’s how to authorize a CBC:
- Go to your NMLS account.
- Select the Filing tab, then select ‘Individual’.
- Click ‘Request New/Update’ and choose Criminal Background Check (CBC).
- Click ‘Submit New Prints’.
- Schedule a fingerprinting appointment with Fieldprint.
- Fill out the required details in the demographics section.
- Save everything then attest and submit it.
- Pay the CBC fee of $36.25.
Under the SAFE Act, an individual can be barred from becoming an MLO if they have been convicted of a felony offense in the last 7 years before application.
However, financial offenses such as bribery, fraud, check forgery, and theft will disqualify you from getting a license.
As for your credit report, here is how to authorize it:
- Select the Filing tab.
- Click on ‘Credit Report Request’.
- Switch on the Completeness Check icon.
- Go to the Individual Verification link.
- Review the information, and attest and submit it.
- Pay the credit fee of $15.
If your credit score is poor, you may provide credit report explanations when you submit your application.
Step #5: Find a Sponsorship
Before you can complete your application, you’ll first need to find employment — this is your sponsor.
It’s time to go out there and look for a job with a licensed mortgage broker.
Even though you want to get your license already, never rush this step.
Remember, you’re going to work for this company — so make sure it’s one that fits your needs and preferences.
And when you do find a good one for you, have your new employer request sponsorship.
Step #6: Submit Your Application
To submit your application, you need to complete the Individual Form (MU4) in NMLS.
Here’s how to do that:
- Go to your NMLS account.
- Go to the Filing tab.
- Request New/Update.
- Click ‘Add’ and choose Kansas from the list of states.
- Choose the Kansas Mortgage Loan Originator License box.
- Fill in all the required information. This includes answering disclosure questions and detailing your sponsorship.
- Upload all the required documents. You may upload any documents for your disclosure questions or credit report explanations.
- Pay the fee KS license fee of $130
Once submitted, the Kansas Office of the State Bank of Commissioner will review everything.
If approved, your license status will go from ‘pending’ to ‘approved’.
You’re now an officially licensed mortgage loan officer in Kansas.
Frequently Asked Questions About Becoming an MLO in Kansas
Is the SAFE MLO Test Hard?
The SAFE MLO test is made up of 120 multiple-choice questions that you’ll have to answer within 190 minutes or 3 hours.
However, know that only 115 questions will be scored. The other 5 are just pre-test questions.
The question topics are divided into these areas:
- Federal Mortgage-Related Laws – 24%
- Uniform State Content – 11%
- General Mortgage Knowledge – 20%
- Mortgage Loan Origination Activities – 27%
- Ethics – 18%
The minimum passing score for the SAFE MLO test is 75%.
Who Regulates the MLO License in Kansas?
In Kansas, mortgage loan office or originator licenses are regulated by the Kansas Office of the State Bank Commissioner, Division of Consumer and Mortgage Lending.
They will be the ones to review your MLO application through NMLS — and approve or reject it.
How Much Do MLOs Earn in Kansas?
In Kansas, MLOs can expect a sizeable annual income of $50,261 per year on average. This is equivalent to $24.15 an hour OR $4,188 a month.
And with increasing real estate prices, you can expect an increase in the total commissions per market price, too.
What Does a Mortgage Loan Officer Do?
Mortgage loan officers have the important task of handling mortgage applications, and advising clients on the best mortgage deals they can take.
This involves negotiating on their behalf and handling bureaucratic paperwork and legal formalities to get the mortgage processed.
Seeing as how most homes are bought with the help of a mortgage, MLOs are in hot demand and often find abundant work opportunities.
So there you have it — your 6-step guide on how to become a mortgage loan officer (MLO) in Kansas.
Pretty easy, right?
And it’s even easier now that you know EXACTLY what to do, when to do it, and how to do it.
Just put in the time and effort and you’ll get your MLO license in no time.
Best of luck!